With Thanks to Saint Anthony of Padua*

I’ve found something that I thought was lost forever !

I’ve found something that I thought was lost forever !

In the process of trawling through the many and varied folders full of irrelevant pap that are stored on our computer, I found all the files from my old Blog 🙂
I started blogging in 2008 ( ! ) When we moved to France and began our Ex-Pat journey, primarily as a way to keep extended family and friends ‘in the loop’ of our lives. Once I had started though I found that I wrote more and more for myself.
From April 2008-December 2009 I blogged on my, now defunct, website but the discovery of WordPress and the ease of use it offered compared to the upkeep of a stand alone website changed all that. In February 2010, ( not sure what happened to January), I began blogging on this page, always with the intention of creating an archive of my previous work. As with most of my intentions this fell by the wayside and over time and through various house and computer changes it became quite clear that I had no idea where I had stored my files, and despite many searches I found nothing and feared that the recycle bin had somehow been the recipient of those 2 years in one of my ‘tidying up’ purges.

Tonight I found them. This makes me very happy.

 

While I have resisted the urge to re-read most of them there were a few that caught my attention and I have had an evening full of memories and mixed emotions.

Instead of reading through them all I have copied my files form an obscure folder containing all sorts of curiously out of date documents and they now sit in pride of place on my desktop, waiting to be archived on this very page. This will mean a little re-jigging over the next week or two to settle them in so please bare with my site as I want to be able to organise them in a way that is easy to re-read and doesn’t cause too much clutter.

This may take a while.

I will be sure to let you all know when they are live so you can, if you wish, join me on a stroll down memory lane.

 

Jer Gan Mai

*Saint Anthony of Padua. The patron Saint of lost things 🙂

 

Now if he could just help out with my keys…….

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

