An apolo-blog

I can’t believe I haven’t written anything since October. And the beginning of October at that.

Well that’s not strictly true, Ive written bits of things, and I’ve meant to write so much.

There was the Visa run to Laos. Hmm. Laos. It’s a funny old place, full of contradiction. It was an awkward trip, one made from necessity to formalize small ones education visa, rather than one taken for pleasure. A tremendous country with a bloody and painful history and some stark reminders of the realities of war. But it is a place of hope and I had a particularly poignant moment at sunset on the banks of the Mekong holding an aluminum leaf in my hand. Once I’d managed to block out the sound of the two very large, not entirely voluntary ( in the case of 1 certainly), and incredibly noisy aerobics classes on the riverfront. I should really write about that…
But anyway.
Then there was a celebration weekend to be had. Not only was it small ones 9th birthday, it was also the weekend of the Yee-Peng festival, which has to be seen to be believed. I knew what to expect visually, lots of lanterns in the sky…very pretty. I was not in any way shape or form expecting to take a direct hit to the feels. It was a deeply moving and very special moment in a wonderful weekend. But you’d already know that if I’d actually written about it, I will, I promise. And the zoo. I won’t forget to mention the zoo.

Oh and I had this great thing I was going to do about spirit houses, really interesting. Lots of pretty pictures too. And the Thai superstitions piece. That’s going to be quite funny. When I write it down.

And I can crochet now too. I have been busy you know.

In short, well not quite as short as I had initially intended, this is a sorry that I haven’t written for ages, and a promise to do better.

But right now I have to go on my evening flower bed inspection to see which of my beautiful bedding plants Bertie has dug up this evening.

Bertie is our dog.

We have a dog now.

I know, it’s been a while.

Jer Gan Mài.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

