Life begins……..

And so my life has just begun. Apparently.

I’m not sure about a life begun again, but it is certainly a life that is much changed. Over the course of the last few weeks my life has dramatically changed, and will alter even more in the weeks to come. Many people tell me that when one reaches 40 one must reflect on the life that has passed and contemplate ones future and the roads that one may take.

There has been quite a lot of time for mirror gazing of late, when you are trying to compress the life of oneself and ones family into one small storage container and 2 large suitcases, you really must decide on what is truly important and what is just ‘stuff’.

We used to have an awful lot of ‘stuff’.

Gone is the house in the French country side, gone is the odd little village and it’s curious inhabitants, gone is the solitude of a long cold winter, gone (hurrah) is the cacophonous donkey. What matters to us is now carefully packaged and stored for recall at some future date, or squeezed tightly into the confines of an airlines luggage allowance.

Of course what matters most cannot be packed into boxes. Well not without resulting in some serious criminal charges anyway.

And as for looking ahead at what’s to come, well in all honesty I have no idea how the next few months are going to pan out, let alone the next few years, but I can’t wait to find out 🙂

Im not quite sure how this auspicious birthday has rolled around so quickly, but here it is. When I was 20 I often tried to imagine how my life would be now, but clearly my younger self had no real imagination (aside from the creative jumper patterns of course) and never in my wildest dreams would have imagined this. Standing on the precipice of a whole new big adventure, surrounded by the warmth and love of those who not only supported me in everything I have done, but made everything that has gone before and everything that is to come possible in the first place. Thanks Dad, Thanks Mum, I couldn’t have got here without you. Literally.

So it’s happy birthday to me, and goodnight. I’m an old lady now, I need my sleep 😉

A Bientôt.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

2 thoughts on “Life begins……..”

    1. Merci beaucoup or rather, as I should probably now be saying, ขอบคุณมาก.
      Ok, so it will probably be quite some time before I can actually ‘say’ that, but you get my drift 😉

Leave a Reply

