A rare moment of solitude.

So a few weeks ago now I told you I was moving. I have barely stopped since.

The whirl of sorting and organising and packing has been tornado like in it’s intensity. I have never thrown away so much ‘stuff’ in my life.

When you have to try and pare down to the essentials it’s amazing how much you realise you just don’t need anymore.

As we are moving half way round the world we made the bold decision to sell off the furniture, move our treasured possessions into storage and travel ‘airline luggage restrictions light’. it has been quite a challenge to condense my life into one large suitcase. Even more so with small person and her vast army of toys.
But we are almost there. Which is just as well because in 3 days time we will be gone.

Wow, 3 days. It still doesn’t seem quite real.

We have enjoyed relative success with the dispersal of goods and chattels, with the very good folks of the Helianthus charity shop picking up the slack, not to mention the wardrobes, that we were unable, to sell.

So it comes to pass that we have no furniture in the house. Which with a few days to go might have been a problem had it not been for the utterly lovely Mr&Mrs W who have given us beds and food for our remaining time here with the bonus of warmth and friendship thrown in for good measure.
There are usually some regrets when one moves on, this time there will not be many, but one I have is that during my time here I did not spend more time with this family. I think they will never truly appreciate just how much they mean to me. I have had some dark days here in the past and the understanding that they were here for me has been fundamental in pulling me through a few of those, even if they did not know it at the time. So to them I give my heartfelt thanks. I will miss you all very much.

Even though we have spent the last 6 months planning and the last month preparing I’m sure it won’t seem real till I have handed over the keys and left the house for the very last time.

I woke up early this morning in an unfamiliar room and watched the sun creep into the morning sky. Dappled spots of pale gold peeping through the shutters, inching their way across the floor and onto the bed. Each tiny dot holding with it the seeds of a spectacular day. As the sun spots reach my face, small person stirs nearby and I realise that this rare moment of quiet and reflection will soon come to an end and the whirlwind of sorting and packing will begin anew. So I stop and close my eyes and swim in the peace of a quiet morning and revel in the promise of things to come.

A Bientôt.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

