The times they are a changing

I really am pathetic at this blogging lark aren’t . It all started so well and with such promise.

5 and a bit years ago when we moved to France I decided I was going to blog about life here and our little adventures. And we have had many. But to be honest when you live in a tiny village in the middle of the countryside alongside people whose language you have singularly failed to master, it gets quite hard to come up with new and interesting things to say. There are only so many trips to see the donkeys that can stand documentation.

There have been times of great joy and times of great sadness. The times of sadness are vey hard for me to recount for many reasons. It just affects too many people. Whilst it is heart warming to find out that there are so many people who care if you are sad, the flip side is that it is very hard to express those feelings when you know that people who care about you will be reading your blog and it will make them sad. That’s just too much sad.

Not that it’s all been sad by any means, there had been a significant element of boredom too. It is hard to write engagingly when you have nothing new to say.

But it’s not all doom and gloom so fear not. I have been enjoying immensely my cooking blog, HillyWillys Kitchen, and finding an outlet for my slightly off beat culinary skills has been, and continues to be hugely rewarding.

So why am I writing again now? Has the village been named the site of a new theme park? Have the residents taken up arms against the government? Is it true that they have found oil under the Maire’s office? The answer to all of these questions is a resounding non.

Life here goes on in pretty much the same fashion as it has done for the last century or so, the only real change is that one set of dysfunctional neighbors has given way to another. Don’t even get me started on the subject of their dog……

So I return to the question of why I feel compelled to start up this blog again.
Well not much in the village has changed, but HillyWillys world I’d about to be turned on it’s head.

We are moving.

A Bientot.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

2 thoughts on “The times they are a changing”

    1. Thanks Hazel, and don’t worry there will be more soon…. Life here does tend toward the hum-drum at times, but lots of excitement ( and warm weather) on the horizon soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

