its a hard rock life

Gaaarr, it’s happened again. Another week has gone by without me seeming to find the time to communicate with the outside world.
I am woefully behind on my blog writing, although extensive notes have been made in one of the many notebooks which are part of what is rapidly becoming an extensive stationary collection, so far it seems there are too few hours in the day to do anything with them.

We have been showing AJ as much as we can of the area and trying to give her a small taste of Asia, not easy in 2 weeks, but we have managed to pack quite a lot in.

With very large thanks to a colleague of Hubs, we got walk-through tickets to see Zaia ,the Cirque Du Soleil show at the Venetian. Moo was quite annoyed that we were sitting in a booth until the audience participation down on the ground began. She is not a big fan of ‘joining in’, particularly when those doing the asking are in large and loud costumes. That the protagonists in this case were dressed as clowns made it doubly worse as she seems to have developed an aversion to these particular circus freaks. Can’t think where she gets that from….

It was as the lights were lowered and the eyes were widened that it occurred to me that this was the first actual performance of a show that Moo has seen. She has witnessed many rehearsals and been on more backstage tours than the most dedicated ‘stage door johnny’, but as we settled back and watched high rise buildings appear from the ground and performers drop in from the sky, it was pure and utter wonderment.

As the circus acts followed each other in rapid succession, I must admit to being more than a little bewildered as to the actual story arc they were trying to follow, and between us all we still have absolutely no clue why one of the main characters was carrying an, I’m sure what must have been a hugely symbolic, oversized prop egg on his back.

The performances of the acrobats were undeniably extremely polished and professional, the performer flying looked nice, if a touch repetitive, (there seemed to be a lot more ‘kit’ up in the air than was actually used during the show), and the lighting was beautiful. But overall we had a ‘hung jury’ regarding the show.
1 emphatic ‘Meh’ from AJ (who it has to be said was asleep for half the time). She found its 90 minutes over-long and the circus acts and music were not to her taste at all.
1 luke-warm ‘okay’ from me. Whilst I enjoyed the acts and the visual spectacle, I felt the ‘story’ element was utterly lost and I can’t help but feel that bringing an entirely circus oriented show to China is rather like taking coals to Newcastle or ice to the Eskimos.
Moo however shared none of these concerned and when the 90 minutes was up she was bitterly disappointed that it was home-time. She was utterly captivated from start to finish and was full of questions, both artistic and technical, although I think she may have slightly annoyed some of the ‘off duty’ cast members who were sharing the booth that night when she began suggesting ways to improve certain aspects of the show…..
To see the delight in her eyes as the lights swooped round in ever changing colours and the cast defied gravity and threw fire around the place with seeming recklessness was pure magic to my eyes and brought home to me once more the power of a ‘show’ to inspire and enthral.
1 very large thumbs up from her then. Apart form the clown. She really didn’t like the clown.

Another highlight of any visit to Macau has got to be a visit to ‘The wave pool’ situated on the mezzanine roof terrace of the Hard Rock hotel, and as Moo and I had never actually made it there before now it was a new experience for all of us.
When walking onto the roof terrace of any hotel you expect a decent view. What I didn’t expect to see was a perfect strip of white sand beach bedecked with loungers and umbrellas surrounding an enormous multi-tiered swimming pool, complete with a ‘swim up’ bar and restaurant, but that’s exactly what we got. Not to mention the beach volleyball court and enormous hot-tub platform. It was all a little surreal but from the look on Moo and AJ’s faces as we walked in I knew I had scored a serious amount of ‘cool-points’ for this outing.

With barely enough time to feel the burning hot sand beneath my feet both kids were in the pool making good use of the many and various flotation devices available and it wasn’t too long before I joined them.
It also wasn’t long before Moo had attached herself to a group of French children around a similar age and the need for mum and big sis almost entirely vanished, well until it was time for tea anyway. The idea of spending just a couple of hours here evaporated in the afternoon sun as we were all having way too much fun to leave and the decision to order up a very reasonably priced and delicious ‘poolside pizza’ was greeted with much enthusiasm.
The in-pool entertainment for the afternoon was mainly provided by AJ who had grown rather attached to what I can only describe as a ‘big red wobbly floaty thing’ and once she had managed to master getting onto it and floating around in the sun, decided that it was time to try and stand up on it. After many, what can only be described as disastrous but hilarious, attempts, she finally managed a few seconds upright to the delight and not inconsiderable applause of her fellow pool dwellers.

As the sun began to set and the hotel lights came on I found myself lounging on an oversized pool ring trailing my head and my hands in the cool waters. Looking up at the fading sun reflecting off the inverted column of metallic wave like ‘ripples’ that seem to grow organically from the façade of the Hard Rock hotel, with Lou Reed gently urging me from the underwater speakers to ‘Take a walk on the wild side’, I wondered if the day could get any better.
As it turned out it could. When the lights of the surrounding hotels began to shimmer in the darkness of the still warm night, I had a cold beer in my hand and headed to my new favourite spot and once more used my ‘phrase of the day’.
“If you need me, I’ll be in the hot-tub”.

A Bientot.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

