its a tough job, but someone has to do it

Almost impossibly AJ has now been here for almost a week, and what a week It’s been.
With surprisingly little Jet lag to recover from we have been wandering the Island taking in the sights and sounds of this crazy place.

First stop (after the in house pool), on any tourist route has to be the Venetian Hotel with its maze of over priced uber-designer stores and grand canal, complete with gondola rides – although we passed on that particular experience. After an hour of wandering around looking at $1000 shoes and handbags we stopped for ice-cream and decided it was time to get out, which in itself proved to be something of a challenge, but was eventually achieved.
I am extremely pleased to report that AJ has exactly the same opinion of one of the largest grandest resorts in Macau that I have. And we both hate it.

For a bizarre sightseeing experience it is worth a look, where else would you see fully trained opera singers punting along an indoor canal (apart from Las Vegas and Japan where the 2 other Venetian hotels are), through the ‘streets of Venice’ as the ‘sky’ darkens throughout the day and the ‘street lights’ come on at ‘dusk’ along with the lights in the ‘houses’ that line the many twisting and turning identical ‘avenues’. But I find the whole place a bit creepy and extremely claustrophobic, and despite the numerous signposts and interactive maps that line your route, not to mention the ‘helpful’ guidelines painted on the floor, every time I go into the place I get hopelessly lost.

It was a relief to get back into the blistering heat of the outside world and I welcomed the rush of hot air as we opened the exit doors and walked one more on the real streets of Macau.

The next day it was the turn of City of Dreams, a far more chilled out experience and with Moo champing at the bit to get AJ in to see the dragon show I took a welcome 20 minute coffee break. The dragon show is a fantastic animation in a 360 degree cinema, but as I have seen it around 20 times already I took a pass this time. Not that Moo wanted me there anyway, since AJ arrived I have been designated the status of ‘surplus to requirements’, which sometimes suits me just fine.

Then it was off to the Macau tower to watch utterly insane people jump from the top on bungee cords ‘for fun’. Nutters. Whilst the skywalk (walking around the top of the tower clipped on to an overhead rail) appeals to me greatly, I have absolutely no compulsion to throw myself from the top thank you very much. I’ll leave that to Hubs and AJ who have been having discussions…..

I have been inducting AJ into the wonderful world of relaxation, it’s a tough job but one I take seriously, and have had the pleasure of introducing her to many ‘firsts’. The jacuzzi and sauna combination has gone down particularly well.
She was extremely brave and conquered her fish phobia when we went for ‘fishie nibbles’, although only one foot made it into the big fish pool, but she did better than Moo who wussed out completely once again. It was during fishie nibbles that AJ had her first proper neck and shoulder massage too.
I tries a new fish spa this time, (they seem to be popping up all over the place), and it was a much more relaxed atmosphere than the one we went too before where talking and laughing was encouraged rather than frowned upon, and the package deal of spa and massage was too good to pass up so as we sat being chomped the masseur arrived and gave her a rub down as we sat drinking complimentary coffee and juice and watching random Chinese TV. If you ever do find yourself in Macau one of these days and have a yearning desire to have tiddlers nibbling your toes I can wholeaeartedly recommend the Nature spa, just around the corner form the MGM grand.

In amongst all this sightseeing and pampering my birthday happened, and what a lovely day it was. It stared with a solo swim and sauna and a little light sunbathing, continued with a bacon roll breakfast and presents one of which Moo had managed not to tell me about in the preceding week mainly, she confessed, as she had forgotten about it!

A shopping trip to 3 lamps market was next on the list followed by another dip in the pool, with a bit of company this time. The proposed restaurant meal was binned in favour of an Indian Take-away (re-shelve the ‘going out shoes’), as Moo and Hubs have both been suffering from ‘air-con cough’ and were flagging a little, but it was still a marvellous way to round off the day and the combination of Japanese beer, Vodka and Champagne rounded me off quite nicely too.

A bientot.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

