Fishy Nibbles

In all honesty I thought it was just a bit mad, I mean do people really pay to have that done? I mean it has happened to me before by accident when I was on holiday in Cyprus, and whilst it was not altogether unpleasant, it was something of a shock and not something I ever though I’d find myself actively volunteering to do.

But here we were in the ‘Shoppes* at the Four Seasons’ hotel searching out the place. (*just so you know I haven’t made a typo there they do actually call them ‘shopPEs’).
I had done a little research and in fact this is one of the ‘hottest’ new spa treatments available and all the bright young things are putting their best feet forward and having a dabble, so why the heck not eh?
We paid our money and had our feet very professionally washed and cleansed and were given some specially disinfected spa sandals to take us to the therapy pools. And then it was time.

I was a little nervous as I lowered my size 41’s into the warm clear water. In less than 2 seconds I was laughing hysterically as around 50 – 60 fish were all chomping away greedily on my manky feet.

Garra Rufa at work
The fish on our feet were about 10 times that size

It is the most bizarre sensation, somewhere in between tickling and scratching not at all unpleasant and after you get used to the initial tickle, a most relaxing and enjoyable 30 minutes.

Fishy nibbles or,to give it it’s correct title, Icthyotherapy has its origins in India and Turkey, both of which are the native home to the ‘Garra Rufa’ or ‘Doctor Fish’. These fish feed on dead or diseased skin and are increasingly being used by patients in the treatment of psoriasis and dermatitis as they only consume the affected and dead areas of the skin, leaving the healthy skin to grow.
Of course on the back of these benefits the ‘spa’ industry has jumped on the bandwagon and promoted the use of these little nibblers as part of the ultimate pedicure, and after just 30 minutes I can’t say that I disagree.

The Fish Spa at the Four Seasons Macau

I feel like I have new feet. Gone are the rough scaly heels and the solid edges on the big toes that many hours of past grooming have failed to remove and my feet feel, well, nice. Even the excruciatingly ticklish process of opening my toes wide to let them nibble inside was well worth the few minutes I could bear. Moo was fascinated, but only managed to dip one foot in for one tiny munch before freaking out, but Hubs looked like he was in fishy heaven, even though he couldn’t quite manage opening his toes for fear of squishing a fishy if it was just too much for him to cope with.

As an odd experience it’s up there with the oddest, but it’s also something I can recommend with both feet.

A Bientot.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

1 thought on “Fishy Nibbles”

  1. There is only one thing I can say ooooooowwwwhhhhh (ok I have another yyyyuuuuuccccckkkk)
    I’m with Molly here I’m afraid

Leave a Reply

