Chalk and cheese

I can’t believe it has been a week since I wrote here. Must do better!

JJ arrived unexpectedly early on Monday morning having taken the decision to drive through the night after disembarking at Dieppe, rather than stop for a sleep. She was greeted by two rather dishevelled but delighted pyjama wearing occupants. After a brief struggle getting Moo off to school we unpacked the goodies from her car and proceeded to fill my cupboards with exciting treats. After an exchange of late Christmas and birthday presents we were off to the supermarket to fill my cupboards with boring essentials and cheese. Lots of cheese. JJ struggled woman-fully on till after lunch then succumbed to the comfy sofa and duvet.

The rest of the week has been occupied, in the main, by the pursuit of relaxation mixed with a light flurry of spring cleaning. The best house guest you can have is one who openly declares a love of cleaning fridges. Wednesday blessed us with gorgeous spring weather and we spent the afternoon drawing chalk pictures on the path and feeding our local donkey friends. Marvellous.

Since then the clouds have closed ranks and decided that we have had quite enough sunshine for the moment, and what we really need is a few good storms to further the springtime growth. Ah well you can’t have everything.

JJ and I decided that as Moo stays at school for lunch on Fridays, it would be the perfect day for a shopping trip to Le Mans. I managed to fit in a coffee and a long overdue catch up with my wonderfully large friend Mme. W before we set off. (Just to clarify I’m not being rude about her figure, but she is 7 and a bit months pregnant and looks quite spectacular!).
After a satisfying bimble, we headed to our favourite bargain shop, and were in sight of it when the heavens opened and unleashed a furious storm of hail upon us. Realising that even if we ran the remaining 100 or so meters we would be drenched, we took shelter under the canopy of a local shop exchanging weather related exclamations with the owner until it had passed over.
When we finally made it to the shop I was rewarded with the prize of a lovely little silk dress jacket which will do a grand job of turning my smart-ish holiday clothes into outfits worthy of an evening out. If only I could have found some shoes then my day would have been complete, but there are still 2 shopping weeks till Macau!
The week has ended with more storms and rain, and it looks set to continue. We have managed a few shower dodging excursions to the park, but have been mainly engaged in indoor pursuits. JJ has introduced Moo to a new computer game in which she has to ‘dive’ for sunken treasure in order to stock her empty fish-tanks, and I find myself fortunate if I get to snatch the odd few minutes in front of the PC. ‘Luckily’ I have been blighted by yet another bout of insomnia this week so I have been able to catch up with most things in the wee small hours while most sensible have been under the duvet. But it has left me a little weary and a teensy bit on the grouchy side, so I am once again happy to have a house guest who can keep Moo diverted during our indoor confinement. I can also report that my insomnia has a silver lining as I now have a wonderfully clean and, apparently, nourished 3 piece suite.

A Bientot.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

