What time is it?

People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but actually, from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint – it’s more like a big ball of wibbly wobbly… time-y wimey… stuff.*

I’ve never been very good with time. There are 8 clocks in our house and I think maybe one that tells the correct time, give or take a few minutes. I did an experiment a little while ago when one of them started running inexplicably fast one day, (If you would like to read about that please click HERE to be directed to ‘the kitchen drawer’ – the place where you put all stuff you don’t know where to put – page on my website), and I still haven’t reset it or changed the battery. In case you were wondering it stopped one day at 7.32. When I am at home it is the church bells that tell me that I am late to pick up Moo for school, or that I have stayed up far too late again. Since leaving the UK I have been very aware that they are an hour behind whatever time it is here, and that would mean that where Mum and Dad are in the US is 7 hrs. behind. All over it. But now Hubs is in Macau, which is 7hrs ahead. Still with me, good. It does get very confusing for my little brain at times, and some days it all just gets a bit too wibbly wobbly. It was around teatime and I was talking to a friend in Luton who was asking me if we would have time to see her when we are passing through on our way to Heathrow next month, so I started looking at the timetables of the coaches from Luton to Heathrow, I wrote down lots of times then realised you now have to be at the airport 3 hrs. ahead of the flight not 2 as it used to be. Start again. Then I spoke to Hubs who was incredibly sleepy was just off to bed. Then My mum called and was just getting finished at breakfast, when Moo asked me what we were having for tea. It’s no wonder I’m confused. And to add to the pain in the coming weeks it’s almost time to change the clocks. Fortunately the UK and France chance at the same time so will still be the same, however in the US the change two weeks before, so for a fortnight Mum will only be 6 hrs. behind. I looked to see when they change in Macau, and they don’t. Still with me? Good. Now could you read that back slowly and explain it to me. I could really do with ‘machines that go ‘ding’ when time-y wimey stuff happens’* I’m sure it will all work itself in the end, but in the meantime, please don’t ask me what time it is.

*Quotes unashamedly stolen from the, quite magnificent, Doctor Who episode ‘Blink’.

A Bientot.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

1 thought on “What time is it?”

  1. I would love to live in your world at times – everything here is precision timing, military manouvers every morning!

Leave a Reply

