Keeping a-breast of Chimney

Did you see what I did there, never could resist a pun, good or otherwise!
Bad jokes aside, I realised that I hadn’t given any recent cat news, and that will never do.
Despite our scare the little moggy is almost back to full strength again. She has been fed on only ‘cat paté’, a week or so ago I never even knew such a thing existed, and has developed quite a taste for it, sadly for her it will be back to her usal fare as soon as her gums have healed sufficiently. Her initial willingness to take her anti-biotics has been put down to weakness as she is now utterly resistant and legs it as soon as the bottle appears. Her hiding places are becoming a lot better and it took Moo and I nearly an hour to track her down today, even though we knew she was ‘upstairs somwhere’. It turned out that she had spotted a gap in the door of Moo’s clothes cupboard and I found her buried under a pile of t-shirts. Thankfully she is down to one lot of medicine and only for the next 2 days.
She was not supposed to be outside yet, but made an escape when a neighbour came round to see how she was doing. She had been spotted in the village looking deathly while we were away, and as she hadn’t been seen since they were worried for her. She has more fans here than I realised. She was only out for about half an hour and came sauntering back to the house for her next feed. I was determined to keep her inside for the alloted time, but she was scratching the window glass so much, I gave in and she has been out and about for a few visits to her well-wishers.
When she was so very Ill she had entirely lost her meow, and due to the nature of her illness the vet had warned us that it may never fully return. By the middle of the week she had started making a few very peculiar noises. I have little else to compare it to but if you happen to remember the childrens toy that when you tipped it over it made the sound of a cow, then that is exactly the noise she was making. Half of me was hoping that this would be her new permanent meow, as it was, quite frankly, hilarious. Happy to say though that she will not be suffering the ridicule of the neighbourhood cats as her meow has returned to almost full strength as well. Speaking of which I can hear her at the window. Is it supper time all ready?
A bientot

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

