Aarrgghh, or how I coped with the power cut.

Last night there was a big storm. This morning we have no power. I didn’t actually notice till we went downstairs and tried to switch the computer on to phone hubs. Nothing. I checked the main fuse box like a good girl scout then proceeded in the futile exercise of going round the house flicking random light switches until I was satisfied. I hollered out the window to a passing neighbour and he confirmed that it was not just me but the whole village. Damn. I don’t know when we lost power but my little computer had been plugged in overnight so has a little juice left in it. Unfortunately my phone wasn’t and it is only on half. Hubs called my mobile, having been unable to get through to the land line, which runs through the PC, and we swapped tales of woe. I informed him of our power out and he broke the news that he was crippled. I went into panic mode till he expanded on this information. He has a bad back. I’m sure it is very sore, but I think crippled is a little excessive. He has had an achy back since we were in Antwerp, I’m sure that 8 hrs. train travel a 13 hr. flight and very little sleep since then haven’t helped the situation. He is able to hobble around and I’m sure in the land of chiropractors and over the counter self medication all will soon be mended. He is feeling very sorry for himself today as it’s his first day off and he is confined to the apartment (I’m pretty sure the hangover isn’t helping him feel great either….). I said I’d try and call him later, but that all depends on the power situation…..
So what to do with no power for the day? Rather luckily we had already planned an outing for the day to ‘Jim & Jump’ in Le Mans. An indoor torture arena for adults. Alternatively known as an indoor soft play centre. It’s a wonderful and horrific place, full of netted trampolines vast padded climbing ranges, enormous slides and lots and lots of overexcited over excited children having one last fling before the start of school again tomorrow. For the adults it provided WIFI and, much more importantly today, coffee. The worst part of a power cut for me so far has been the inability to have my morning coffee, and anyone who knows me will appreciate what a serious situation that is.
So after depositing shoes, waving goodbye to Moo amidst the brightly coloured plastic paraphernalia and ordering coffee I sat down and got ready to browse the internet for a couple of hours. Except that today their WIFI is not working. Foiled again. Still at least I have now had coffee so my balance is almost restored. Hopefully by the time we get get home the power will be restored too.
It’s at times like these I realise how dependant I am on the internet. The prospect of not being able to e-mail or skype leaves me shuddering. It also makes me realise how many things I should have written down the old fashioned way rather than filed electronically, how many people I would be unable to contact with no access to my computer is quite alarming. So of course the first thing I will do when we have electricity again is print out all my contacts and make sure I have all the information I might need on hard copy. Yeah, course it is.
Meanwhile I sit surreptitiously feeding sandwiches to Moo that were smuggled past the ‘it is strictly forbidden to bring your own food’ signs, whist trying to avoid the gaze of the yellow shirted commandants , sorry staff, patrolling the perimeter. And as I type away waiting for the battery to run dry, surrounded by hyper screaming bouncy children, I wonder what on earth I’m going to do if the power is still out when we get home. And when I am actually going to be able to post what I have written. But at least for now I have coffee.

P.S. Thankfully by the time we got home full power had been restored, Hubs called and told me his back was feeling a little better and I had a mammoth phone-call with a very good friend. Success.

A Bientôt.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

