an Olympic hangover cure

Wednesday morning was indeed marked by a rather dull ache in the temples, although not quite as bad as I had been expecting. I waved hubs off to work and made a swift route back under the still warm duvet. Sadly Moo’s late night did not interrupt her morning schedule and I was soon up and about again dealing with breakfast. One of the nice things about staying here is that the hotel room is equipped with a TV that has a few English channels including the quite marvellous BBC2 with it’s schedule of half term morning kids programmes. Say no more. I managed to drag myself into some kind of reasonable state by mid morning and was able to assist Moo in her crafting of a ‘thank-you for the ice cream’ card for her beloved Pete. Awww. After a quick consultation with the swimming pool schedule and a much needed caffeine fix we headed out for another dip. After the pool it was the park and before we knew it it was tea-time, and time for a bit of winter Olympics. Moo is quite taken with the Olympics and the vast array of new sports on show to her. I don’t know about you, but I tend to forget the fact that this is the first time she has ever seen any of these wonderful and sometimes bizarre sports, For her the idea of winter sports is the odd snowman build with a bit of sledging and a few snowballs thrown in for good measure, so to witness downhill skiing, ice dancing and snowboarding in quick succession was something of a sensory overload. Within about half an hour she had decided, once she had verified that these were in fact real people and it was not some kind of camera trickery, that she wanted to be a skater, a skier and a snowboarder. However the biggest gasp of the evening came with the highlights of the luge. “Mummy look what those crazy people are doing! That’s the most exciting thing I’ve ever seen.” When she saw the luge pairs the decibel levels had the windows rattling. I love that she is getting so excited about these things, but I fear I may end up being a big disappointment to her as when daddy came in from work she stated without even a hint of doubt that “ When I get bigger I’m going to learn how to do the luge. And mummy’s going to do it with me”. Oh heavens I think my headache is coming back.
A bientot.

Author: hillywillyworld

Living as an 'ex-pat' in Thailand with my daughter Moo and sometimes my Hubby too (when he is not bringing home the bacon from Macau). Sometimes it's funny. Sometimes it's tough. Sometimes it's confusing. Most of the time it's just...random. Join me as I struggle and giggle my way through this thing called life.

Leave a Reply

